In This Section

 

Events

2014-2015 Lecture Series

The Long Island Radiological Society Lecture Series is accredited for up to 6 hours of Category I CME Credit by Stony Brook University Medical Center.

Events Schedule >

Past Events >

 

Interesting Cases

Resident's Quiz

LIRS Meeting, May 2006

Resident's Quiz

Case 1: 55-year-old female with abdominal pain and lower extremity edema. What is the diagnosis?

Read more >

 

Long Island Radiological Society

 

Who We Are

The Long Island Radiology Society, Inc. is a professional organization composed of diagnostic radiologists and medical physicists who live or work on Long Island, New York, including the counties of Nassau, Queens and Suffolk.

The LIRS was originally formed as the Nassau Radiological Society in 1952, and remains committed to advancing the science and practice of radiology to better serve our communities and patients.

The LIRS is a regional chapter of the New York State Radiological Society, Inc., which is a state chapter of the American College of Radiology.

 


 

2012-2013 Officers

 

President:  

Dawn Behr-Ventura, M.D., MPH
35 Etna Lane
Dix Hills, NY 11746
DawnBV@gmail.com

  Vice-President:   Nalini Kanth, M.D.
Department of Radiology
Box 13DGB
Nassau University Medical Center
2201 Hempstead Turnpike
East Meadow, NY 11554
nkanth@numc.edu
             
Secretary:   David J. Axelrod, M.D.
5 Knights Hill Court
Melville, NY 11747
Tel: (631) 531-2351
djaxelrod@gmail.com
  Treasurer:   Joseph Mazzie, D.O.
2989 Shore Dr.
Merrick, NY 11566
JMazzie@winthrop.org
             
Immediate Past President:  

George Autz, M.D.
440 Merrick Road
Oceanside, NY 11572
Tel: (516) 255-8267
gaport@optonline.net

  Education Committee Chairperson:   Paul Fisher, M.D.
Clinical Associate Professor
Radiology and Surgery
SUNY/SBUH
Tel: 444-7345

 

Top of Page >


 

2012-2013 Executive Committee

 

Elaine Gould, M.D.
Department of Radiology
HSC, Level 4, Room 120
State University of New York at Stony Brook
Stony Brook, NY 11794-8460
Tel: (631) 444-2480
Elaine.Gould@StonyBrook.edu
  Victor J. Scarmato, M.D.
Department of Radiology
Nassau University Medical Center
2201 Hempstead Turnpike
East Meadow, NY 11554
Tel: (516) 572 6633
Fax: (516) 572-5941
vscarmat@numc.edu
  Elizabeth Maltin, M.D.
Zwanger-Pesiri Radiology Group
126 Hicksville Road
Massapequa, New York  11758
Tel: (516) 798-4242
Fax: (516) 797-3509
emaltin@optonline.net
         
Martin Feller, M.D.
Zwanger-Pesiri Radiology Group
759 Montauk Highway
West Islip, NY 11795
Tel: (631) 669-1103 (office)
Tel: (631) 499-5067 (home)
martyfeller@verizon.net
  Paul Grappell, M.D.
146 Manetto Hill Rd
Plainview, NY 11803-1324
Tel: 516-822-3600
Fax: (516) 822-0008
luna2tp@optonline.net
  John Hines, M.D.

Long Island Jewish Medical Center
Dept of Radiology
270-05 76th Ave
New Hyde Park, NY 11040
jhines@nshs.edu
Tel:  718-470-7144
Fax:  718-343-7463

         
Douglas S. Katz, M.D.
Winthrop-University Hospital
259 First Street
Mineola, NY 11501
Tel: (516) 663-2374
Fax: (516) 663-8172
dsk2928@pol.net
  Jonathan Luchs, M.D.
Metropolitan Diagnostic Imaging Group, PC
  William Moore, M.D.
Department of Radiology
HSC, Level 4, Room 120
State University of New York at Stony Brook
Stony Brook, NY 11794-8460
Tel: (631) 444-7955
William.Moore@StonyBrook.edu
         

Clemente Roque, M.D.
Department of Radiology
HSC, Level 4, Room 120
State University of New York at Stony Brook
Stony Brook, NY 11794-8460
Tel: (631) 444-7345
croque@radiol.som.sunysb.edu

  Rakesh A. Shah, M.D.
Winthrop-University Hospital
259 First Street
Mineola, NY 11501
Tel: (516) 663-2374
Fax: (516) 663-8172
rshah@winthrop.org
  Mark R. Wax, M.D.
Department of Radiology
Good Samaritan Hospital
100 Montauk Highway
West Islip, NY 11795
Telephone: (631) 376-4027
Fax: (631) 376-4060
mark.wax@CHSLI.org
         
George Autz, M.D.   Nadia Roa, D.O.
43 Orchard Court
Woodbury, NY 11797
Nadia.Rao@chsli.org
  Steven Lev, M.D.
         
Josh Kern, M.D.
NRAD Medical Associates
990 Stewart Avenue
Garden City, NY 11530
(516) 222-2022
jkern@nrad.com
  Greg Timm, M.D.    

 

Top of Page >


 

2012-2013 Councilors

 



ACR Councilor:   Elizabeth Maltin, M.D.
ACR Alternate Councilor:   Douglas S. Katz, M.D.

 

Top of Page >


 

ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT

 

Deborah Dabbene
Stony Brook University Medical Center
Radiology Department
HSC, Level 4 – Room 120
Stony Brook, NY 11794-8460
Tel: (631) 444-7345
Fax: (631) 444-7538
ddabbene@notes.cc.sunysb.edu  

Top of Page >